What to Read Next? A List of Edifying Books (Other Than the Scriptures)

Paperback The Heavenly Man: The Remarkable True Story of Chinese Christian Brother Yun Book

Last Friday I got to meet with my beloved Veggie Gals. I missed part of it because I couldn’t drive until after the threat of rain passed. It’s a long story, but the short of it is that we now have a car missing a hood. We are waiting for the insurance money to come through to fix it. Until then I get to drive a car that makes me feel like I’m in the middle of a gangster war. Anyway, the Veggie Gal lunch was full of yummy food and many book recommendations to build us up.

I love the scripture from this past week of the Come, Follow Me readings:

“Wherefore, he that preacheth and he that receiveth, understand one another, and both are edified and rejoice together. And that which doth not edify is not of God, and is darkness. That which is of God is light; and he that receiveth light, and continueth in God, receiveth more light; and that light groweth brighter and brighter until the perfect day.”-Doctrine and Covenants 50:22-24

What does “edify” mean? I looked it up in Webster’s 1828 dictionary. Here is what it said:

1. To build, in a literal sense. [Not now used.]

2. To instruct and improve the mind in knowledge generally, and particularly in moral and religious knowledge, in faith and holiness”

So food that edifies builds us up. It gives us nutrients that we can use for the future, instead of just energy, or empty calories. Mental food, in the form of books and other media, edifies us by building our minds so we are better instruments of God. It is meat for the brain instead of brain candy.

Here is the list of books the ladies talked about, all before I got there, boo-hoo, which I in turn recommend to you if you are looking for your next great read. I’m so grateful that one of them took the time to type up the list and email it to all of us. I highly recommend one of these!

Heavenly Man (all of us recommended!)

The Power of a Praying Wife

The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian

Shift Happens! No Job, No Money. Now What?

Hiding In The Light

22889875

The Girl with Seven Names

Surviving Death by Leslie Kean

Tramp for the Lord

Mully (movie)

Saving my Assassin

Gods Smuggler

Life after Death by Dinesh D’Souza

Love Does

13497505

Everybody Always

Captive in Iran 

I Dare to Call Him Father

Evidence not Seen 

Father to the Fatherless 

I can’t wait to go into my scribd.com app and find out if any of these are in there and save them to read. Then whatever’s not there I’ll look for in my public library and Audible. Learn about scribd.com here and happy, edifying reading to you! The Law of the Terrain applies as much to the brain as it does to plants and to our physical bodies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s